Peterson identifies 3 types of wound badges. The first type is shown here, the second type is HERE, and
the third type (no picture in Peterson's book) may have been a local war wound association badge.

The Type I badges came in two classes, and each class had two versions:
sensho (wounded in battle)
kousho (wounded in the public service). There are badges for NCOs and for officers. The badges
for officers are identical in design but they are larger.

These badges are much rarer than the later enameled badge. These were established by Imperial Edict
199 in Taisho 12 [1913].

The two classes are signified with the two highest
celestial stems, pronounced kou and otsu (less
kinoe and kinoto) in Japanese. The former is the higher class.

HERE for a recent detailed explanation of the varieties of this badge.
Higher class, sensho badge.
Lower class, sensho badge.
Lower class, kousho badge.
War Wound Badges
Type I
Another example (higher class):
Rare Type I War Wound Badge, senshou (wounded in battle) variety.
The case indicates that this is the badge given to those ranked below NCO.
There is a handwritten insert in the lid, but I am not sure when it was written. It could be entirely
made-up, but here is the translation:

'War Wound Badge, High Class, Number 3363. [Awarded to] Kitabayashi Matsuji, holder of the 8th
Decorated Rank and 7th Class Golden Kite. Given for an injury suffered after the Meiji 37-8 [1904-5]
War, in the area of Mukden. Taisho 14 [1925] July 8, Ministry of the Army.'
Doorplate piece
Very scarce large war wound badge for NCOs. The size of this
example (about 33.3 cm long, 30 cm wide) indicates it was made
during the years 1913 to 1923. In 1924, these large badges were