Order of the Sacred Treasure
3rd & 4th Classes
The Sacred Treasure award was established in 1888. It is the only Japanese medal that has a
triangular fold for the ribbon. It has eight classes, which are not only designated by a number but also by
a name. So oftentimes, on award documents, for example, the number of the class will not be indicated
but the name of the award will be. Here are the names in English:

1st Class Large Ribbon Award
2nd Class Sacred Treasure Award
3rd Class Sacred Treasure Medium Ribbon Award
4th Class Sacred Treasure Small Ribbon Award
5th Class Two Lights Sacred Treasure Award ('Two Lights': i.e., gold and silver plating)
6th Class One Light Sacred Treasure Award ('One Light': i.e., only silver plating)
7th Class Sacred Treasure Gold Award
8th Class Sacred Treasure Silver Award

Note that these are literal translations. I haven't checked to see if they are the official English translations.

In 2003 the numbered classes were abolished. There are currently only 6 different medals. See
Japan Mint page for details.
A 4th Class Sacred Treasure award document, dated Showa 5 [1930].
3rd Class Sacred Treasure document,
dated June 3, 1937
3rd Class Sacred Treasure document,
dated May 17, 1944
Miniature 4th Class
Replacement ribbon & box
No rivets
3rd through 6th Classes. Note size differences.
3rd and 4th Classes. Note size difference.