Navy Proficiency Badges
1st Class,
page 2
Torpedo Firing Proficiency Badge
(Torpedo Shooting Superior Ensign)
Instituted on September 8, 1911 (Meiji 44). Another source states that is was in 1908.

Awarded to NCOs who operated torpedoes on warships and submarines. Also eligible were the
torpedo sight operators.
Seamanship Proficiency Badge
(Operation Superior Ensign)
Instituted on April 22, 1930 (Showa 5)

Awarded to NCOs who operated piloting of warships and submarines. The test consisted of
compass reading, the methods of piloting different kinds of ships, the targeting of enemy ships,
maneuvering strategies, etc.
Navy Damage Control Badge
(Emergency Measure Superior Ensign)
Instituted on August 31, 1939 (Showa 14)

Awarded to NCOs who passed tests in
preventing & extinguishing fires, preventing
and stopping floods, poison gas protective
measures, disposing of broken equipment,
Navy Lookout Badge
(Crow's Nest Superior Ensign)
Instituted on September 25, 1931 (Showa 6)

Awarded to NCOs who scouted for ships and
planes while on board a vessel. Said to have
been awarded to those who spotted enemy
warships and submarines.
The title of each badge is that provided by Peterson. In parentheses I have put the English
translations I found in a Japanese source. That source called the 2nd Class badges 'Superior
Badges' and the 1st Class badges 'Superior Ensigns.' The English titles (names) are somewhat
different, too, and some may be more accurate than Peterson's choices.
Aviation Proficiency Badge.  (Aviation Superior Ensign)
Instituted on June 1, 1927 (Showa 2)

Awarded to Navy pilots, mechanics, and technicians. There were two tests, a flying test and a technical test.  
Included subjects such as scouting, aerial photography, piloting skills, mid-air conflict, etc.
Click photo above to see the replica.
NOTE: On both of the following badges, the center mum crest has been broken off. I cannot imagine why...