Navy Proficiency Badges
2nd Class, page 2
Here are some photos of the 2nd Class Navy Proficiency badges. There are 10 different
badges, according to Peterson. As you can see, I do not have an example for each one, so if
anyone can help with a photo, I'd appreciate it.

The title of each badge is that provided by Peterson. In parentheses I have put the English
translations I found in a Japanese source. That source called the 2nd Class badges
'Superior Badges' and the 1st Class badges 'Superior Ensigns.' The English titles (names)
are somewhat different, too, and some may be more accurate than Peterson's choices.
Aviation Proficiency Badge  (Aviation Superior Badge)
航空優等章 (
Koukuu Yuutoushou)
Instituted on June 1, 1927 (Showa 2)

Awarded to Navy pilots (NCOs as well) and airplane mechanics who passed tests in various airplane skills. Note
that in order to receive the 1st Class badge, this test had to be passed again within 3 years of passing the first
Lookout Proficiency Badge (Crow's Nest Superior Badge)
見張優等章 (
Mihari Yuutoushou)
Instituted in 1931 (Showa 6)
My Japanese source says this badge was instituted on June 25, 1934 (Showa 9)

Awarded to NCO sailors who passed tests in lookouts. Included were tests in night and day and the
sailors had to see as well in both.
Seamanship Proficiency Badge (Operation Superior Badge)
操舵優等章 (
Souda Yuutoushou)
Instituted on April 22, 1930 (Showa 5)

Awarded to NCO sailors who had to steer vessels, so tests included such things as reading naval
maps and understanding basic equipment of the vessel.
Damage Control Proficiency Badge (Emergency Measure Superior Badge)
Instituted on August 31, 1939 (Showa 14)

Awarded to NCO sailors who passed tests in poison gas attacks and other emergency measures.
(Note that behind the blossom and anchor is a gas mask.)
The anchor here is painted silver.