The Order of the Golden Kite
4th and 5th Class examples
4th Class, post-1937
5th Class
The 4th Class Golden Kite is the same size as the 5th Class, but the reverse and metal
sections of the obverse are gold-plated on the 4th. (The 5th has a silver plate.) Even so, the gold
color often faded and it was difficult to discern the difference between the two. In 1937 a rosette
was added to the ribbon to solve this problem.
Meiji-era 4th Class
Order of the Golden Kite 4th Class decoration.
Order of the Golden Kite 4th Class.
4th Class awarded in 1906. Note the absence of the rosette but the hints of what was once a brilliant gold gilt.
Some 5th Class medals